Pick Your Gadget

Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these do you buy, and why? -The Daily Post

Something feels unsettling about using a time machine. What if, I decide to make one little change in the past that completely changes my future? And when I travel to the future, what if it’s not what I hope it to be? So I go back in time again and try all the possible scenarios to make the best future, but what if I’m never satisfied? It seems like I’d be a prisoner of time. A time machine is too risky, too powerful.

I personally do not see much use in an invisibility helmet. Perhaps for some entertainment. Maybe I’ll sneak into a movie theater or an extremely expensive concert or maybe try to find out what someone really thinks of me, but I don’t see much use in that.

But anywhere doors! I assume by that, it means I’ll have a door that leads to anywhere I want. Imagine visiting a new place every chance I get. I would learn so much about the world. One of my favorite quotes is from St. Augustine : “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” Today, I’d visit my dream city the beautiful Barcelona, tomorrow maybe be on one of the busiest streets in the world at Tokyo, Japan, and the next day a tropical island..Ah all the possibilities.

4 thoughts on “Pick Your Gadget

Leave a Reply

